Introduction

CLP, Regulation (EC) 1272/2008, is the acronym for Classification, Labelling and Packaging of substances and mixtures. This Regulation entered into force on the 20th of January 2009 and replaced the two previously existing laws or legal instruments, the Dangerous Substance Directive (DSD) and the Dangerous Preparation Directive (DPD).

CLP is based on the Globally Harmonized System (GHS), a set of recommendations drafted by the United Nations. The CLP Regulation is applied to substances since 2010 and to mixtures since June 2015.

Remark: For mixtures already classified, labelled and packaged according to DPD and placed on the market before the 1st of June 2015 a transitional period existed and companies had to re-label and re-package their mixtures at the latest by the 1st of June 2017.

The aim of CLP is to ensure that hazards related to chemicals are clearly communicated to workers and consumers in the European Union through the classification and labelling of chemicals.

The main objective behind CLP is to preserve human health and the environment, and it is the duty of all actors in a supply chain to ensure compliance with classification, labelling and packaging requirements. Thus, before placing chemical products on the market, the industry must determine the potential risks of these substances and mixtures to human health and the environment, and classify them in accordance with the identified hazards. Hazardous chemicals must also be labelled according to a standardised system, so that workers and consumers are aware of their effects before using them.

In addition, CLP is strongly linked to:

  • REACH, in particular with regard to safety data sheets;
  • A number of other European laws, such as those concerning Biocides, Plant Protection Products, major industrial accidents (Seveso), and the legislation on chemicals at the workplace (Carcinogens and Mutagens Directive, Chemicals Agents Directive).

For more information on classification and labelling please see the respective pages.

CLP requirements apply to chemical substances (such as chloric acid, ethanol, iron, cooking salt, ammonia, bleach...), mixtures (detergents, paints, lacquers, concrete, oil...) and explosives (section 2.1, Annex I CLP).

However, the CLP Regulation shall not apply to the following:

  • Radioactive substances and mixtures (Council Directive 96/29/Euratom);
  • Substances and mixtures which are subject to customs supervision;
  • Non-isolated intermediates;
  • Substances and mixtures for scientific research and development;
  • Waste (Directive 2006/12/EC).

CLP shall not apply to substances and mixtures in the following forms, which are in the finished state, intended for the final user:

  • Medicinal products (Directive 2001/83/EC);
  • Veterinary medicinal products (Directive 2001/82/EC);
  • Cosmetic products (Directive 76/768/EEC);
  • Medical devices (Directives 90/385/EEC, 93/42/EEC and 98/79/EC);
  • Food or feeding stuffs as defined in Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 including when they are used as a food additive in foodstuffs (Directive 89/107/EEC), as a flavouring in foodstuffs (Directive 88/388/EEC and Decision 1999/217/EC), as an additive in feeding stuffs (Regulation (EC) No 1831/2003), in animal nutrition (Directive 82/471/EEC).

Remark: There are no exemptions under the CLP Regulation in contrast to the REACH Regulation (tonnage dependent registration obligation > 1t/y, Annex V, polymers). Thus, any hazardous chemical is in the scope of CLP and has to be notified in the C&L inventory.

Useful links

Introduction

L'acronyme CLP du règlement (CE) 1272/2008 vient de l'anglais " Classification, Labelling and Packaging of substances and mixtures " (" Classification, étiquetage et emballage des substances et mélanges "). Ce règlement, entré en vigueur le 20 janvier 2009, remplace deux actes législatifs antérieurs, à savoir la directive " Substances dangereuses " (DSD) et la directive " Préparations dangereuses " (DPD).

Le CLP repose sur le Système Général Harmonisé (SGH), un ensemble de recommandations élaborées par les Nations Unies. Le règlement CLP est appliqué aux substances depuis 2010 et aux mélanges depuis juin 2015.

Remarque : les mélanges faisant déjà l'objet d'une classification, d'un étiquetage et d'un emballage selon la directive DPD et mis sur le marché avant le 1er juin 2015, disposaient d'une période transitoire qui s'est achevée le 1er juin 2017. Depuis lors les entreprises doivent ré-étiqueter et ré-emballer leurs mélanges conformément au règlement CLP.

Le règlement CLP a pour objet d'assurer que les dangers que présentent les produits chimiques soient clairement communiqués aux travailleurs et aux consommateurs de l'Union Européenne grâce à la classification et à l'étiquetage des produits chimiques.

Le principal objectif du CLP est de préserver la santé humaine et l'environnement, et il est incombe à tous les acteurs d'une chaîne d'approvisionnement de garantir la conformité aux exigences en matière de classification, d'étiquetage et d'emballage. Par conséquent, avant de procéder à la mise sur le marché de produits chimiques, l'industrie doit déterminer les risques potentiels de ces substances et mélanges pour la santé humaine et pour l'environnement, et les classer conformément aux dangers identifiés. Les produits chimiques dangereux doivent aussi être étiquetés selon un système normalisé de sorte que les travailleurs et les consommateurs soient informés de leurs effets avant de les manipuler.

En outre, le CLP est étroitement lié à :

  • REACH, notamment en ce qui concerne les fiches de données de sécurité ;
  • Plusieurs autres lois européennes, telles que celles concernant les biocides et les produits phytopharmaceutiques, la directive sur les accidents industriels majeurs (SEVESO) ou la législation relative aux substances chimiques sur le lieu de travail (directive sur les agents cancérogènes et mutagènes, directive sur les agents chimiques).

Pour de plus amples informations sur la classification et l'étiquetage, veuillez consulter les pages correspondantes.

Les exigences du règlement CLP s’appliquent aux substances (telles que l’acide chlorique, l’éthanol, le fer, le gros sel, l’ammoniac, l’eau de Javel...), aux mélanges (détergents, peintures, laques, béton, huile...) et aux explosifs (section 2.1, annexe I du CLP).

Toutefois, le règlement CLP ne s’applique pas dans les cas suivants :

  • Substances et mélanges radioactifs (directive 96/29/Euratom du Conseil) ;
  • Substances et mélanges soumis à la surveillance douanière ;
  • Intermédiaires non isolés ;
  • Substances et mélanges destinés à la recherche et au développement scientifiques ;
  • Déchets (directive 2006/12/CE).

Le CLP ne s’applique pas aux substances et mélanges sous les formes suivantes, à l’état fini et destinées à l’utilisateur final :

  • Médicaments (directive 2001/83/CE) ;
  • Médicaments vétérinaires (directive 2001/82/CE) ;
  • Produits cosmétiques (directive 76/768/CEE) ;
  • Dispositifs médicaux (directives 90/385/CEE, 93/42/CEE et 98/79/CE) ;
  • Denrées alimentaires ou aliments pour animaux tels que définis dans le règlement (CE) no 178/2002, y compris lorsqu’ils sont utilisés comme additifs dans les denrées alimentaires (directive 89/107/CEE), comme substances aromatisantes dans les denrées alimentaires (directive 88/388/CEE et décision 1999/217/CE), comme additifs dans l’alimentation des animaux (règlement (CE) no 1831/2003), dans l’alimentation animale (directive 82/471/CEE).

Remarque : Il n’existe aucune dérogation dans le cadre du règlement CLP contrairement au règlement REACH (obligation d’enregistrement si tonnage > 1 t/an, annexe V, polymères). Par conséquent, tout produit chimique dangereux entre dans le champ d’application du CLP et doit être notifié dans l’inventaire C&L.

Liens utiles