All substances which are placed on the EU market must be classified by manufacturers, importers or downstream users of chemical substances or mixtures according to Article 4.1 CLP. This obligation applies regardless of the tonnage manufactured, imported or placed on the market.

Besides the obligation to classify under the CLP Regulation, manufacturers and importers must also classify all substances subject to registration and notification obligations under the REACH Regulation (Articles 6, 7, 9, 17 and 18 REACH).

There are two types of classification:

  • Harmonised classification

This type of classification concerns substances for which a classification has been decided upon at the European level. When a harmonised classification and labelling exist, companies must apply this classification. Harmonised classifications can be found in the tables of Annex VI CLP. A harmonised classification only applies to substances and not to mixtures.

  • Self-classification

This type of classification is required when substances do not have a harmonised classification or where a harmonised classification only covers certain hazard classes. The self-classification has to be done by:

  • Manufacturers of substances;
  • Importers of substances or mixtures;
  • Producers or importers of explosive articles or articles for which REACH provides a registration or notification duty;
  • Downstream users, including formulators.

Before undertaking a self-classification, companies need to check if the substance is already classified under the harmonised classification and labelling system.

  • Step 1: Gather all available information that can help to determine the classification of substances;
  • Step 2: Check the information to ensure it is adequate and reliable;
  • Step 3: Evaluate available information against classification criteria. First, companies have to check if the information collected reveals a hazardous property and then, check if the information is directly comparable to respective hazard criteria;
  • Step 4: Decide on a appropriate classification. If the evaluation of the hazard information shows that the substance meets the criteria to be classified for a particular hazard, then the company must assign the respective classification (hazard class and category) and the appropriate labelling elements for the label and/or the safety data sheet.

For mixtures, the same hazards classification procedure applies as for substances in the first step.  Similarly to the way substances are classified, available data on the mixture as a whole should primarily be used to determine the classification (except for the CMR, biodegradation and bioaccumulation properties) where applicable. If this cannot be done, other approaches to the mixture classification may be applied.

It is important to choose the most appropriate method to determine the classification of a mixture for each hazard class, differentiation or category. The method will depend on whether the mixture is being assessed for physical, health or environmental hazards and on the type and quality of information that is available. Depending on the information you have and on the hazard under consideration, you should classify using the approaches provided below in the following sequence:

  • Classification derived using data on the mixture itself, by applying the substance criteria of Annex I to CLP;
  • For health and environmental hazards only: classification based on the application of the so-called bridging principles, which make use of data on similar mixtures which have already been tested and information on individual hazardous substances which are ingredients of the mixture;
  • For health and environmental hazards only: classification based on a calculation or on concentration limits in case substances which are classified for the particular hazard are present in the mixture.

Manufacturers, importers and downstream users need to follow new scientific or technical developments and estimate whether a re-evaluation of the classification of the substance or mixture they place on the market should be done.

Useful links

Toutes les substances mises sur le marché européen doivent être classées par les fabricants, les importateurs ou les utilisateurs en aval, conformément à l’article 4.1 du CLP. Cette obligation s’applique indépendamment de la quantité fabriquée, importée ou mise sur le marché.

En dehors de l’obligation de classification conformément au règlement CLP, les fabricants et les importateurs doivent également procéder à la classification de toutes les substances soumises aux obligations d’enregistrement et de notification  dans le cadre du règlement REACH (articles 6, 7, 9, 17 et 18 du règlement REACH).

Il existe deux types de classification :

  • La classification harmonisée

Ce type de classification concerne les substances pour lesquelles une classification a été décidée au niveau européen. Lorsqu’une classification et un étiquetage harmonisés existent, les entreprises sont alors tenues d’appliquer cette classification. Les classifications harmonisées sont indiquées dans les tableaux de l’annexe VI du CLP. La classification harmonisée s’applique uniquement aux substances, et non aux mélanges.

  • L’autoclassification

Ce type de classification est requis lorsque des substances ne possèdent pas de classification harmonisée ou lorsqu’une classification harmonisée couvre uniquement certaines classes de danger. L’autoclassification doit être réalisée par :

  • Les fabricants des substances ;
  • Les importateurs des substances ou des mélanges ;
  • Les producteurs ou importateurs d’articles explosifs ou d’articles pour lesquels REACH prévoit une obligation de notification ou d’enregistrement ;
  • Les utilisateurs en aval, y compris les formulateurs.

Avant de procéder à une autoclassification, les entreprises doivent vérifier si la substance est déjà classée selon le système de classification et d’étiquetage harmonisés.

  • Étape 1 : collecte de toutes les informations disponibles permettant de déterminer la classification des substances ;
  • Étape 2 : évaluation de l’adéquation et de la fiabilité de l’information ;
  • Étape 3 : analyse de l’information par rapport aux critères de classification. En premier lieu, les entreprises doivent vérifier si les informations recueillies révèlent une propriété dangereuse, puis s’assurer que les informations sont directement comparables aux critères de risque respectifs ;
  • Étape 4 : décision quant à la classification appropriée. Si l’évaluation des informations de danger révèle que la substance satisfait aux critères pour être classée dans une classe de danger particulière, l’entreprise doit alors attribuer à la substance la classification correspondante (classe et catégorie de danger) ainsi que les éléments d’étiquetage adéquats pour l’étiquette et/ou la fiche de données de sécurité. 

Concernant les mélanges, la même procédure de classification des dangers, que dans la première étape de classification des substances, s’applique.  De manière similaire à la classification des substances, les informations disponibles sur le mélange dans son ensemble doivent être principalement utilisées pour déterminer la classification (sauf pour les propriétés CMR, de dégradation et de bioaccumulation), le cas échéant. Si cela est impossible, d’autres approches en matière de classification des mélanges peuvent être appliquées.

Il est important de choisir la méthode la plus appropriée afin de déterminer la classification d’un mélange pour chaque classe, catégorie ou différenciation de danger. La méthode dépendra du fait que le mélange aura été évalué ou non pour les dangers physiques, pour la santé ou pour l’environnement, et du type et de la qualité des informations disponibles. Selon les informations possédées et le type de danger concerné, vous devrez effectuer la classification à l’aide des approches présentées ci-dessous dans l’ordre suivant :

  • Classification dérivée utilisant les informations du mélange lui-même, en appliquant les critères établis pour les substances dans l’annexe I du CLP ;
  • Pour les dangers pour l’environnement et la santé uniquement : classification basée sur l’application des principes dits d’extrapolation, qui utilisent les informations connues sur des mélanges similaires ayant déjà été testés et les informations sur les substances dangereuses individuelles qui font partie des ingrédients du mélange ;
  • Pour les dangers pour l’environnement et la santé uniquement : classification basée sur des calculs ou sur les limites de concentration dans le cas où des substances classées comme comportant un danger particulier sont présentes dans le mélange.

Les fabricants, les importateurs et les utilisateurs en aval doivent se tenir informés des nouveaux développements scientifiques ou techniques et estimer si une ré-évaluation de la classification de la substance ou du mélange qu’ils mettent sur le marché doit être réalisée.

Liens utiles