Evaluation under REACH means the scientific assessment of registration dossiers and the scientific assessment of substances and is defined in Title VI (Art. 40-54) of the Regulation. Accordingly, the title is divided into two chapters:

    • Dossier evaluation with the evaluation of testing proposals and the compliance check of registration dossiers
    • Substance evaluation of substances listed in the Community Rolling Action Plan (CoRAP)

      On-site isolated intermediates that are used under strictly controlled conditions are exempt from evaluation. Dossier and substance evaluation differ in their aim and target as well as the data that is reviewed and the possible outcome (see table below). In all procedures, registrants can be obliged to provide additional data but also have the possibility to participate in the different steps. For dossier evaluation, only data required in Annexes VII to X REACH can be requested from the registrant. In contrast, any information identified as required, can be requested in the substance evaluation process. Dossier evaluation is conducted by ECHA while substance evaluation is mainly done by the Member States.

      Dossier evaluationSubstance evaluation
      Evaluation of testing proposalsCompliance check
      AimProduce reliable and adequate data in compliance with REACH and avoid unnecessary animal testingAssure compliance of registration dossiers with the REACH requirementsClarify a concern that a substance constitutes a risk to human health or the environment
      TargetAll testing proposals submitted as part of a registration dossierAt least 5% of the registration dossiers for each tonnage bandRegistered substances selected and listed in the CoRAP
      Check
      • Registration dossier and testing proposals of the registrant
      • Outcome of public consultation for vertebrate tests versus the data requirements and waiving options in Annex IX and X REACH
      • Registration dossier of the registrant and data requirements of Articles 10-13, Annexes III and VI-X REACH
      • Adaptations of the standard information requirements
      • Chemical safety assessments/reports
      • Risk management measures
      • Justifications for separate submission
      • All available information on the substance (if reasonable also on related substances), in particular those relevant for the identified concern
      Possible outcomeECHA Decision: Registrant to do:
      • The proposed test
      • The proposed test with modifications
      • One or more additional tests
      • No test
      ECHA Decision:
      • Registrant to submit any missing information required according to the REACH Annexes
      • Quality Observation Letter: Registrant to increase quality of the dossier
      • No further action (dossier is already in compliance)
      ECHA Decision:
      • Registrant(s) to submit any needed information
      • Further actions by authorities within REACH&CLP (authorisation, restriction, classification and labelling)
      • Further actions by authorities outside REACH&CLP
      • Voluntary actions by registrant(s)
      • No further action (no risk identified)

      Evaluation of testing proposals

      ECHA examines all testing proposals according to Annex IX and X REACH that are submitted as part of a registration dossier or a downstream user report. Tests required in Annex IX and X must only be conducted after a prior confirmation by ECHA to avoid unnecessary animal testing. ECHA publishes all proposals for vertebrate tests to allow third parties to submit scientifically valid information and studies that address the relevant substance and hazard end-point that will be taken into account by ECHA in preparing its decision.

      ECHA has four options:

      • Accept the testing proposal
      • Accept the testing proposal with modifications of the testing conditions
      • Accept or reject the proposal but require one or more additional tests
      • Reject the testing proposal

      Compliance check

      The compliance check evaluates whether the information submitted in a registration dossier is in compliance with the REACH requirements. The compliance check is conducted for at least 5% of the dossiers per tonnage band. The aim is to ensure an adequate quality of the registration dossiers. Thereby, the whole dossier can be checked or the evaluation can be targeted on certain parts (for more details, see ECHA’s Q&A on targeted compliance checks).

      Steps and possibilities for interaction in dossier evaluation

      StepActorCompany action
      Evaluation of the testing proposal (deadlines see Article 43 REACH), or Compliance check of the registration dossier (within 12 months after start)ECHA
      • No specific actions; follow your REACH IT account closely
      • Update dossier before the target date stated in a quality observation letter (QOBL) received from ECHA (only for compliance check)1
      Adoption of the ECHA DecisionECHA, MS, optionally also MSC and COM
      • Comment on ECHA’s draft decision within 30 days (testing proposal: 90 days if more than one registrant); also use the ECHA offer to have an informal exchange on the draft decision, update dossier if needed
      • Comment on proposals for amendment by Member States (MS), if any
      • Participate in meeting discussion of proposals for amendment in the Member States Committee (MSC), if any
      • Agree on who generates the requested information with other registrants of the substance, if any, (incl. cost and data sharing)
      • Prepare and submit the requested data to ECHA within the deadline fixed in the final decision and update dossier2
      Evaluation of submitted informationECHA
      • No specific action; if further data is needed, ECHA will restart the process; if request is not fulfilled, ECHA informs MS of non-compliance (enforcement)

       1 The QOBL is a communication by ECHA identifying shortcomings in a dossier that may be relevant for the safe use of the substance. It is an independent outcome of a compliance check although it is often sent at the same time as the ECHA draft decision.

      2 Instead, a registrant can decide to cease the manufacture or import, and inform the Agency accordingly (for details see Art. 50 REACH). Besides this, the addressee of an ECHA Decision has also the right to appeal before the ECHA Board of Appeal.

      Substances evaluation does not aim at one registration dossier but considers all information available for a substance (e. g. from several registration dossiers and other sources). Substance evaluation is conducted for substances that may constitute a risk to human health or the environment and that have been included in a Community rolling action plan (CoRAP). The objective is to clarify these concerns and, if a risk is identified, to initiate measures to reduce this risk. Substance evaluation is mainly done by competent authorities of the Member States but coordinated by ECHA.

      The CoRAP (Community Rolling Action Plan) lists all substances selected by ECHA and the Member States for substance evaluation in the three upcoming years. It is updated once a year. Substances are selected based on information on hazards, exposure, tonnage (aggregated for all registrants), concerns identified in dossier evaluation, and concerns identified by Member States. An inclusion of a substance in the CoRAP does not immediately cause additional obligations. See also ECHA’s Q&A on CoRAP and substance evaluation.

      Substance evaluation can result in a request to the registrant(s) of the substance for further information. Following substance evaluation, further action may be taken, if needed, under the authorisation or restriction procedures in REACH, or classification and labelling procedures in CLP. The information may be passed on to other authorities responsible for relevant legislation (e.g. occupational health), or no further action may be taken.

      Steps and possibilities for interaction in substance evaluation

      StepActorCompany action
      Selection of substances (CoRAP)ECHA, MS
      • Follow the annual update of the CoRAP

      Evaluation of the substance (within 12 months after start) 

      eMSCA
      • Contact the evaluating Member States’ Competent Authority (eMSCA) for that substance early in the process to clarify the initial concern and to see if additional data can be provided (if so, update dossier)
      • Communicate with other registrants of the substance
      Adoption of the ECHA decision (on request for further data from the registrant, if any)ECHA, MS, optionally also MSC and COM
      • Comment on ECHA’s draft decision within 30 days (ideally one joint comment for all registrants of the substance), update dossier if needed
      • Comment on proposals for amendment by MS, if any
      • Participate in meeting discussion of proposals for amendment in the MSC, if any
      • Agree with other registrants of the substance, if any, on who generates the requested information (incl. cost and data sharing)
      • Prepare and submit the requested data to ECHA within the deadline fixed in the final decision, and update dossier1
      Evaluation of submitted information and finalisation of substance evaluationeMSCA
      • Follow the finalisation of the substance evaluation and the identification of possible follow-up actions

       Instead, a registrant can decide to cease the manufacture or import, and inform the Agency accordingly (for details see Art. 50 REACH). Besides this, the addressee of an ECHA Decision has also the right to appeal before the ECHA Board of Appeal.

      Useful links

L’évaluation dans le cadre de REACH signifie l’évaluation scientifique de dossiers d’enregistrement et de substances. Celle-ci est définit au titre VI (art. 40-54) du règlement. Le titre est ainsi séparé en deux chapitres :

  • Evaluation des dossiers avec l’évaluation des propositions d’essais et les contrôles de conformité des dossiers d’enregistrement.
  • Evaluation des substances listées dans le Plan d’action continu communautaire (CoRAP).

Les intermédiaires isolés restant sur site qui sont utilisés dans des conditions strictement contrôlées sont exemptés de l’évaluation. L’évaluation des dossiers et des substances diffèrent quant à leur objectif et leur cible ainsi que par les informations qui sont vérifiées et les résultats possibles (voir tableau ci-dessous). Dans toutes les procédures, les déclarants peuvent être obligés de fournir des informations supplémentaires mais peuvent également participer aux différentes étapes. Lors de l’évaluation des dossiers, seules les informations requises dans les annexes VII à X de REACH peuvent être demandées aux déclarants. En revanche, toute information jugée nécessaire peut être requise dans le processus d’évaluation des substances. L’évaluation des dossiers est effectuée par l’ECHA alors que l’évaluation des substances est principalement effectuée par les Etats Membres.

 

Evaluation des dossiersEvaluation des substances
Evaluation des propositions d'essais
Contrôle de conformité
ButProduire de l’information fiable et adéquate en accord avec REACH et éviter tout essai inutile sur animauxAssurer la conformité  des dossiers d’enregistrement vis-à-vis des obligations de REACHVérifier les préoccupations qu’une substance peut avoir vis-à-vis de la santé humaine et l’environnement
CibleToute proposition soumise dans le cadre d’un dossier d’enregistrementAu moins 5% des dossiers d’enregistrement pour chaque bande de tonnage Les substances enregistrées, sélectionnées et listées dans la CoRAP
Vérification
  • Dossier d’enregistrement et proposition d’essai du déclarant
  • Résultats des consultations publiques pour les essais sur vertébrés par rapport aux exigences en matière d’informations et aux informations standards des annexes IX et X de REACH
  • Dossier d’enregistrement du déclarant et exigences en matière d’informations énoncées aux articles 10-13, annexes III et VI de REACH
  • Adaptation des exigences d’informations standards
  • Evaluations/rapports sur la sécurité chimique
  • Mesures de gestion des risques
  • Justification pour les soumissions séparées
  • Toute information disponible sur la substance (et si elles sont acceptables, également sur les substances apparentées), surtout celles qui sont pertinentes par rapport aux préoccupations identifiées
Résultats possibles Décision de l’ECHA avec ce que le déclarant a à faire:
  • Le test proposé
  • Le test proposé avec des modifications
  • Un (ou plusieurs) test(s) supplémentaire(s)
  • Pas de test
 
Décision de l’ECHA:
  • Les déclarants doivent fournir toute information manquante supplémentaire requise conformément aux annexes de REACH
  • Lettre d’observation de la qualité : le déclarant doit améliorer la qualité du dossier
  • Aucune action supplémentaire (le dossier est déjà conforme)
Décision de l’ECHA :
  • Les déclarants doivent fournir toute information requise nécessaire
  • Action supplémentaire par les autorités de REACH&CLP (autorisation, restriction, classification et étiquetage)
  • Action supplémentaire par les autorités en dehors de REACH&CLP
  • Action volontaire de la part du ou des déclarant(s)
  • Aucune action supplémentaire (aucun risque identifié)

Evaluation des propositions d’essais

L’ECHA examine toutes les propositions d’essais conformément aux annexes IX et X de REACH et qui sont soumises dans le cadre d’un dossier d’enregistrement ou d’un rapport d’utilisateur en aval. Les tests requis aux annexes IX et X doivent seulement être effectués après une confirmation préalable de l’ECHA afin d’éviter des essais inutiles sur animaux. L’ECHA publie toutes les propositions d’essais sur vertébrés afin de permettre aux parties tiers de soumettre des informations et des études scientifiquement valides et portant sur les substances pertinentes et les points critiques,  qui seront pris en compte par l’ECHA lors de la préparation de sa décision.

L’ECHA a quatre options :

  • Accepter les propositions d’essais
  • Accepter les propositions d’essais avec des modifications des conditions d’essais
  • Accepter ou rejet la proposition, mais requière un ou plusieurs test(s) supplémentaire(s)
  • Rejeter les propositions d’essais

Contrôle de conformité

Le contrôle de conformité vérifie que les informations soumises dans un dossier d’enregistrement sont conformes aux exigences de REACH. Le contrôle de conformité est mené pour au moins 5% des dossiers, et par bande de tonnage.  Le but est d’assurer une qualité adéquate des dossiers d’enregistrement. Ainsi, tous les dossiers peuvent être vérifiés ou l’évaluation peut être ciblée sur certaines parties (pour plus de détails, voir les Q&A sur les contrôles de conformité de l’ECHA).

Les étapes et possibilités d’interactions lors de l’évaluation des dossiers

EtapeActeurAction de l'entreprise
Évaluation de la proposition d’essai (échéances, voir article 43 de REACH), ou contrôle de conformité des dossiers d’enregistrement (dans les 12 mois après le début)ECHA
  • Aucune action spécifique, suivre attentivement votre compte REACH-IT
  • Mettre à jour le dossier avant la date limite indiquée dans la lettre d’observation de la qualité (QOBL) reçue de la part de l’ECHA (uniquement pour le contrôle de conformité)1
Adoption de la décision de l’ECHAECHA, EM, éventuellement aussi MSC et COM
  • Commenter le projet de décision de l’ECHA dans un délai de 30 jours (proposition d’essai : 90 jours, si plus d’un déclarant) ; également utiliser l’offre de l’ECHA afin d’organiser un échange informel à propos du projet de décision, mettre à jour le dossier si nécessaire.
  • Commenter les propositions d’amendement des Etat Membre (EM), le cas échéant
  • Participer à la réunion des propositions d’amendement du Comité des Etat Membres (MSC), le cas échéant
  • Trouver un accord avec les autres déclarants de la substance, le cas échéant, afin de décider qui générera les informations demandées (inclut les coûts et le partage des données)
  • Préparer et soumettre les informations demandées à l’ECHA dans le délai fixé dans la décision finale et mettre à jour le dossier2
Evaluation des informations soumisesECHA
  • Aucune action spécifique ; si des informations supplémentaires sont nécessaires, l’ECHA relancera le processus, si la demande n’est pas remplie, l’ECHA informe les EM de la non-conformité (contrôle)

 1 La QOBL est une communication de l’ECHA identifiant les lacunes dans un dossier et qui peuvent être pertinentes pour l’utilisation en toute sécurité de la substance. C’est un résultat indépendant  du contrôle de conformité, même si la lettre est souvent envoyée au même moment que le projet de décision de l’ECHA.

2 Un déclarant peut décider d’arrêter la fabrication ou l’importation et en informer l’Agence en conséquence (pour les détails, voir l’article 50 de REACH). Mise à part ceci, il est possible au destinataire d’une décision de l’ECHA de faire appel auprès de la chambre de recours de l’ECHA.

L’évaluation des substances n’a pas pour cible qu’un seul dossier d’enregistrement, mais considère toutes les informations disponibles sur une substance (par exemple, provenant de plusieurs dossiers d’enregistrement et d’autres sources). L’évaluation des substances est réalisée pour les substances pouvant présenter un risque pour la santé humaine ou l’environnement, et qui ont été incluses dans le Plan d’action continu communautaire (CoRAP). L’objectif est d’éclaircir ces préoccupations et, si un risque est identifié, de prendre des mesures afin de réduire les risques. L’évaluation des substances est principalement effectuée par les autorités compétentes des Etats Membres mais coordonnée par l’ECHA.

La CoRAP (Plan d’action continu communautaire) liste toutes les substances, sélectionnées pas l’ECHA et les Etats Membres, qui auront à être évaluées au cours des trois prochaines années. La liste est mise à jour une fois par an. Les substances sont sélectionnées en fonction de l’information disponible sur les dangers, l’exposition, le tonnage (global pour tous les déclarants), les préoccupations identifiées dans le dossier d’évaluation et les préoccupations identifiées par les Etats Membres.  L’inclusion d’une substance dans la CoRAP ne cause pas d’obligations supplémentaires immédiates. Voir également les Q&A de l’ECHA sur le CoRAP et l'évaluation des substances.

L’évaluation de substances peut donner lieu à une demande auprès du ou des déclarant(s) afin d’obtenir des informations supplémentaires. Suite à l’évaluation des substances, des actions supplémentaires peuvent être prises, si nécessaire, en accord avec les procédures d’autorisation et de restriction de REACH, ou des procédures de classification et d’étiquetage du CLP. L’information peut être transférée à d’autres autorités responsables de la législation pertinente (par exemple, la santé du travail), ou il est possible qu’aucune action supplémentaire ne soit prise.

Étapes et possibilités d’interactions lors de l’évaluation des substances

EtapeActeurAction de l'entreprise
Sélection des substances (CoRAP)ECHA, EM
  • Suivre la mise à jour annuelle du CoRAP
Evaluation de la substance (dans les 12 mois après le début)eMSCA
  • En début de processus, contacter l’autorité compétente des Etats Membres responsable de l’évaluation (eMSCA) pour cette substance afin de clarifier la préoccupation initiale et pour voir si des informations supplémentaires peuvent être fournies (si oui, mettre à jour le dossier)
  • Communiquer avec les autres déclarants de la substance
Adoption de la décision de l’ECHA (sur demande d’information supplémentaire de la part du déclarant, s’il y en existe)ECHA, EM, éventuellement aussi MSC et COM
  • Commenter le projet de décision de l’ECHA dans les 30 jours (idéalement un commentaire conjoint pour tous les déclarants de la substance), mettre à jour le dossier si nécessaire
  • Commenter les propositions d’amendement des EM, le cas échéant
  • Participer à la réunion de discussion des propositions d’amendement dans la MSC, le cas échéant
  • Trouver un accord avec les autres déclarants de la substance, les cas échéant, afin de décider qui générera les informations demandées (inclut les coûts et le partage des données)
  • Préparer et soumettre les informations demandées à l’ECHA dans le délai fixé dans la décision finale et mettre à jour le dossier1

Évaluation des informations soumises et finalisation de l’évaluation des substances

eMSCA
  • Suivre la finalisation de l’évaluation des substances et l’identification des actions supplémentaires possibles

 1 Un déclarant peut décider d’arrêter la fabrication ou l’importation et en informer l’Agence en conséquence (pour les détails, voir l’article 50 de REACH). Mise à part ceci, il est possible au destinataire d’une décision de l’ECHA de faire appel auprès de la chambre de recours de l’ECHA.

Liens utiles