Substances with certain hazardous properties can be of concern for human health and/or the environment. "Substitution" means replacing hazardous chemicals with safer alternatives - safer chemicals or techniques. Such substitution can bring substantial benefits for the company itself, the environment and the health of workers and consumers. In the workplace, substitution is at the top of the hierarchy of control measures applied to chemical substances.

We are facing a paradigm shift in regulatory risk assessment of chemicals pointing to hazard-based decision making with a compulsory substitution principle and a greater emphasis on strict obligations.

Increasing harmonisation between the different legal frameworks is necessary and efforts are made to achieve this. From a legal point of view, a hazard is thus defined by the CLP Regulation. Such substances therefore are mainly identified by their harmonised classification and labelling according to CLP which is based on their intrinsic hazardous properties, and therefore, a harmonised classification may trigger obligatory substitution provisions in downstream legislation.

Classification and labelling (C&L) itself already provides an incentive for voluntary substitution as the communication of the hazardous profile via the label allows informed choices of downstream users and consumers. Prioritisation of substitution activities of companies may be based on the C&L of their chemical products. Further criteria not included in the CLP regulation apply, in particular for PBT/vPvB substances, while further legislative changes are under discussion, e.g. on endocrine disruptors.

A common understanding of the most severe hazardous properties is reflected in the REACH SVHC criteria (while of course further non-legally binding criteria may be defined by authorities, dedicated expert bodies, or company policies in a certain context):

  • Carcinogenic (CLP classification in category 1A or 1B)
  • Mutagenic (CLP classification in category 1A or 1B)
  • Toxic to reproduction (CLP classification category 1A or 1B)
  • PBT/vPvB (according to criteria set out in Annex XIII REACH)
  • Endocrine disrupting compounds (interim criteria, may apply as legal criteria, are under development)
  • Respiratory sensitisers (according to CLP)

Substitution may be defined as: “the replacement or reduction of hazardous substances in products and processes by less hazardous or non-hazardous substances, or achieving an equivalent functionality via technological or organisational measures” (Lissner and Lohse, 2003). A key aspect of this working definition is the functional equivalence, i.e. the achievement of the same functionality by less hazardous means.

This can be either straight forward by another chemical or using a safer physical form, or other measure of technology or organisation. The substitution process is a step-wise process and the starting point is the identification of substitution needs and candidates for substitution within a company’s portfolio.

Potential alternative substances (technologies) need to fulfil various criteria. Meanwhile more and more tools and methodologies are available to support the finding and comparative assessment of alternatives based on hazardous properties and further decision supporting criteria, i.e. life cycle and sustainability considerations.

The OECD Substitution and Alternatives Assessment Toolbox (SAAT) provides a comprehensive compilation of resources relevant to chemical substitution and alternatives assessments. A very basic first indication, however, provides any existing restriction and ongoing regulatory scrutiny (“regulatory listing”) preventing a hazardous substance to be used on a sustained basis. Companies should therefore know their chemical portfolio and regularly screen for potential new constraints.

Anticipation of regulatory constraints is possible since regulatory procedures and steps are usually transparent and often take several years before they lead to regulatory risk management measures. Thorough understanding of the regulatory environment and the “cascade” is key to sustainable chemicals management and substitution.

Useful links

Les substances avec certaines propriétés dangereuses peuvent peuvent soulever des inquiétudes pour la santé humaine et / ou pour l'environnement. Le terme "substitution" signifie remplacer les produits chimiques dangereux par des alternatives plus sûres - des produits chimiques ou des techniques plus sûres. Cette substitution peut apporter des avantages substantiels à l'entreprise elle-même, à l'environnement et à la santé des travailleurs et des consommateurs. Sur le lieu de travail, la substitution est est une processus prioritaire en ce qui concerne les mesures de contrôle appliquées aux substances chimiques.

Nous faisons face à un changement de paradigme dans l’évaluation règlementaire des risques des produits chimiques qui met en avant la prise de décision fondée sur les dangers avec une obligation de substitution et avec l’accent mis sur les obligations strictes. L’augmentation d’une harmonisation entre les différents cadres juridiques est nécessaire et des efforts sont réalisés en ce sens.

D’un point de vue légal, un danger est définit par le règlement CLP. De telles substances sont donc principalement identifiées par leur classification et étiquetage harmonisés, conformément à CLP, qui est basé sur leurs propriétés intrinsèques dangereuses. La classification harmonisée peut donc rendre des dispositions de substitution obligatoires dans la législation en aval. La classification et l’étiquetage (C&L) constituent déjà une incitation à la substitution volontaire puisque la communication du profil dangereux sur l’étiquetage permet aux utilisateurs en aval et aux consommateurs de faire un choix éclairé.

La priorisation des activités de substitution des entreprises peut être basée sur le C&L de leurs produits chimiques. Des critères supplémentaires non inclus dans le règlement CLP s’appliquent en particulier pour les substances PBT et vPvB, alors que d’autres changements législatifs sont en cours de discussions, (par exemple concernant les perturbateurs endocriniens).

Une connaissance commune des propriétés les plus dangereuses est représentée par les critères SVHC de REACH (alors que d’autres critères non juridiquement contraignant peuvent, bien sûr, être définis par des autorités, des organismes d’experts dédiés, et dans certains contextes, les politiques d’une entreprise) :

  • Cancérogène (classification CLP dans la catégorie 1A ou 1B)
  • Mutagène (classification CLP dans la catégorie 1A ou 1B)
  • Toxique pour la reproduction (classification CLP dans la catégorie 1A ou 1B)
  • PBT/vPvB (selon les critères définis à l’annexe XIII de REACH)
  • Perturbateur endocrinien (des critères provisoires peuvent s’appliquer car certains sont en cours de développement)
  • Sensibilisant respiratoire (selon CLP)

La substitution peut être définie comme : "The replacement or reduction of hazardous substances in products and processes by less hazardous or non-hazardous substances, or achieving an equivalent functionality via technological or organisational measures” (Lissner and Lohse, 2003). Un aspect clé de cette définition est l’équivalence fonctionnelle, c’est-à-dire la réalisation de la même fonctionnalité mais à l’aide de moyens moins dangereux.

Ceci peut être directement possible grâce à une autre substance chimique ou en utilisant une forme physique plus sûre, ou une autre méthode technologique ou organisationnelle. Le processus de substitution s’effectue par étapes, et le point de départ en est l’identification des besoins de substitution ainsi que les substances candidates à la substitution qui sont présentes dans le portefeuille de l’entreprise.

Les substances (technologies) alternatives potentielles doivent répondre à divers critères. Depuis lors, de plus en plus d’outils et de méthodologies sont devenus disponibles afin de soutenir la recherche et l’évaluation comparative d’alternatives basées sur les propriétés dangereuses et d’autres critères facilitant la prise de décision, c’est-à-dire en prenant en compte le cycle de vie et la viabilité.

La boite à outils de substitution et d’évaluation d’alternatives de l’OCDE (OECD Substitution and Alternatives Assessment Toolbox  - SAAT), fournit une liste exhaustive des ressources pertinentes concernant la substitution des substances et l’évaluation d’alternatives. Une première indication fondamentale fournit toutes les restrictions existantes et les examens réglementaires en cours (« liste réglementaire ») empêchant une substance dangereuse d’être utilisée de manière régulière. Les entreprises devraient donc connaître leur portefeuille de produits chimiques et examiner régulièrement les éventuelles nouvelles restrictions.

L’anticipation de contraintes réglementaires est possible puisque les procédures et les étapes réglementaires sont généralement transparentes et prennent souvent plusieurs années avant qu’elles ne conduisent à des mesures réglementaires de gestion des risques. Une compréhension approfondie de l’environnement réglementaire et de ses « cascades » est essentielle pour une gestion durable des produits chimiques et la substitution.

Liens Utiles