Intention to restrict per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) submitted

Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden have submitted an intention to restrict the manufacture, placing on the market and use of per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) on 15 July 2021. ECHA expects to receive their restriction proposal by 15 July 2022.

The five countries have launched a survey on PFAS and their alternatives and are looking for more information for the intended restriction. The deadline for comments is 19 September 2021. A regulatory management option analysis conclusion document (RMOA) is also available on ECHA’s website.